Never Meet Your Heroes

Conversations with artists about their work, inspiration and their heroes.

    Followers

  • Links

Nov 8th, 2017 by nevermeetyourheroes at 2:02 am

Ian MacKinnon talks to me about what lead him to Los Angeles, discovering performance art and the influence of mentor Tim Miller, the gay liberation, the performance space Highways in Santa Monica, his fetish for gay history, Karl Heinrich Ulrichs and Edward Carpenter, Akbar and the gentrification of Silver Lake, his collaborators Travis Wood, David LeBarron, Steven Reigns and Robert Patrick, also, his current inspirations Martin Matamoros, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith and more. Find out about Planet Queer in Los Angeles at www.planetqueer.org.

00:0000:00
Nov 11th, 2017 by nevermeetyourheroes at 10:54 am

Stephen Van Dyck talks about his early life in New Mexico, childhood fascination with mapping cities, his early interest in writing and piano, his teenage years in a band and meeting men online, we discuss the ontology of happiness, LA Road Concerts and the urban sprawl of Los Angeles, his forthcoming book People I’ve Met from the Internet, dating before Grindr, recollections of North Carolina and our symposium on Tori Amos, Shirley Manson, Bridget Bardot and Eurythmics. Find out more about this LA Road Concerts http://laroadconcerts.com.

00:0000:00
Nov 16th, 2017 by nevermeetyourheroes at 9:38 pm

The Los Angeles Road Concerts took place Saturday, November 11, 2017 on National and Washington in Culver City. For this Road Concert, I spoke briefly with 8 artists about their work. For more information on their project check out laroadconcerts.com or on the Never Meet Your Heroes podcast website nevermeetyourheroespodcast.com.

00:02:14 SAFE TEA by 23-24-25
Ang Wilson angfranc.es
Jen Bruce jenbrucestudio.com
Chelsea Rector www.facebook.com/chelsea.rector

00:04:30 PRIVILEGE – A PERFORMANCE, A SCULPTURE Jory Harms www.handgrainstudio.com

00:06:26 MAKE LOVE NOT WAR Margie Schnibbe margieschnibbe.com

00:08:26 WHAT IS YOUR CARBON FOOTPRINT ReReDuce www.rereduce.org

00:11:18 HUMAN INTERACTIONS 5 CENTS Faith Purvey www.faithpurvey.com

00:14:01 BUMPY RIDE, MELTING INSIDE Elizabeth Folk www.elizabethfolk.com Mark Bobro sbcc.academia.edu/MarcBobro

00:19:43 SOLARSONIC STREAMING www.solarsonic.com Élisa Leclaire www.girlwithpinkglasses.com Willpower Lifeforce www.WillpowerStudios.com Naseem Marukami naseemmurakami.com

00:20:58 RUSSIAN THIZDANCE Christopher Wawrinofsky www.cwawrinofsky.com

00:0000:00
Nov 28th, 2017 by nevermeetyourheroes at 12:35 am

Ashley Bartlett gets into how she started writing Les Fic. Her childhood surrounded by fabulous queer people in suburban Northern California. Our experiences at UCLA. The domestic bliss of being married. Learn about “lovebians.” Meeting her hero, her publishers Bold Strokes Books and getting into editing. The biphobic schism in lesbian fiction. Reading the reviews of her novels. She talks about her Dirty Trilogy. The moral ambiguity of the character, Cash Braddock, in her newest trilogy. The question: “Are straight people okay?” (e.g. Kim Davis, high school homecoming queens and their value judging mothers). Contemporary high school coming out and gender expression. The transphobic politics of Ally McBeal. Reading Kim Harrison novels. We pontificate on sexual harassment, #balancetonporc and Audre Lorde. Find out more about her on www.ashbartlett.com.

00:0000:00